Year Abroad Goals

I’ve been in Grenoble for two and a half weeks now, and so far things are going really well. Yet between life admin, starting uni and meeting people, everything seems to have passed in a blur. I’ve just been rushing around and doing stuff, rather than thinking about why I’m here and what I want to achieve. I haven’t really done anything touristy or adventurous yet, whereas other people in the same situation seem to have taken off for weekends of travelling already.

On Friday I decided that I just needed some time to think so I headed for Place Verdun, a beautiful square which I pass on the tram heading into the city centre. I only sat there for about fifteen minutes but it was so lovely, and it made me realise that it’s so important to be able to appreciate where you are, and not put pressure on keeping up with what others are doing.

I’ve come up with some goals that I want to achieve this year. They aren’t too exciting but they are realistic, which is a lot more important to me.

Speak French everyday

Volunteer in some capacity

Join a gym

Join a sport

Take the TGV

Travel to at least three other cities in France

Take a trip to Italy

Read a French novel in my own time

Find a language exchange partner

Ski

I am only at the start of this experience and I’m sure there will be many more goals, and failed goal attempts to come, which I will write about as and when. For now, I’ll concentrate on the little things.

9 thoughts on “Year Abroad Goals”

  1. It’s good that you spent some time at Place Verdun. Don’t skimp on relaxation and reflection. Tasks and work will always be there. Soak in the present moment.

Leave a Reply

