Packing for Erasmus: Pjs and Night Time Routine

So this time next week i’ll be flying to France for my year abroad! This week is going to consist of a lot of organising and packing so here is a little insight into a few things i’m taking and why.Β It can be quite daunting to work out what to take for such a big move. Ideally, I would like to take everything but that’s unrealistic, especially as i’m travelling there by myself. However, the luggage allowance that I have is quite generous so I will be taking two suitcases (20 kg max) and my backpack for hand luggage.

What i’m focusing on today is pyjamas, bedding and some products that help me to sleep. These things are important to me because I consider them home comforts and I think they will help me to feel more settled in my first few days.

BeddingΒ 

I’m taking a couple of fluffy blankets, two fitted sheets and two pillow cases. I had to buy a few things because I have a single bed at home and i’m moving into a room with a double. These fitted sheets and pillow cases are from Primark, I’m still on the hunt for a reasonably priced duvet cover that I actually like!

PyjamasΒ 

I’m taking two sets of warm pyjamas and one set of summer ones. I’m also taking a few pairs of fluffy socks and a couple of massive jumpers because it gets super cold in Grenoble.

Misc.Β 

I’m packing two products which help me to get to sleep. The first is Clipper sleep easy organic tea, i’ve been drinking this tea for a few months now and I find that it does help me to relax before going to sleep. Another thing that has a similar effect is adding a couple of drops of essential oils to my pillow before going to sleep, such as lavender. I’m currently using Olbas oil which is a mixture of oils including eucalyptus, clove and juniper berry.

19 thoughts on “Packing for Erasmus: Pjs and Night Time Routine”

  1. Oh, that must be an awesome experience. I’d love to study a year abroad too. Will we be able to read more posts on your experience as a foreign student? That’d be great!

    Giulia

    1. Hopefully it will be a good experience! I will definitely be posting while i’m there and about my experiences. If you have any ideas of what you’d like me to write about then let me know πŸ™‚

  2. How exciting!! I’m so happy for you being able to go live abroad, just think of all the stories and memories you’ll have!! πŸ™‚ I might have to try some of your tricks for getting to sleep, I have a hard time of it and don’t want to take sleeping pill aids or anything.

    1. Thank you Lydia! It’s definitely an exciting opportunity to have. In terms of sleep, i’m the same as you in that I don’t want to take sleeping pills. I’ve found that these things as well as trying to stick to a regular sleeping pattern have really helped me.

      1. Thank you for sharing them, I’ll definitely be giving some a try! I don’t have much of a sleeping pattern, that would probably be a good place to start too. πŸ™‚

  3. Hi,
    I’m Janice. I met you in the Community Pool. My daughter is packing to spend a year in New Zealand and will be leaving when you are. You said you were looking for new blogs to follow. Perhaps check mine out if you could use some blogging tips. There is even an incentive for signing up. Nice to meet you.
    Janice

Leave a Reply

